Good Omens by Terry Prachett and Neil Gaiman

The review where I find out if I liked the book or not. It felt slow and in the middle I even skimmed pages. I finished it and felt relieved, but when I think back it’s still with a certain fondness. I didn’t really enjoy the read, so what kind of witchcraft is this?

Synopsis

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are gathering, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth’s mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.

And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist, oops

My thoughts

tre

– the unique plot – 

The gods was interesting, the end of the world is always something to read about, especially when you throw in an Antichrist, witches are a plus, but demon Crowley and angel Aziraphale is definitely the best thing about this book. They are an awesome, iconic couple and I wish we’d gotten more of them. Looking back I realize the moment they split up, and other parts of the plot unfolded, might’ve been when I lost interest.

– fantastic writing – 

I haven’t read anything by Terry Prachett, but they’re obviously both brilliant writers. The humor worked sometimes, but other times it fell through. Some elaborations to the writing made the pace even slower. Everything was leading towards the end of the world and I just wanted to get there without too many derailings. Also, it might be confusing to follow so many POV’s and some was more interesting to me than others. Ms. Zuigiber, a certain god and war journalist, is my favourite, both terrifying and impressive. Ah, I’m glad I’ve read this book, when I think of it.

– overall – 

I liked the concept, but the book itself didn’t fit me. It seems like Good Omens will become a bbc tv series and if so, I’m so excited for it. Supernatural was awesome, but dragged out and didn’t really have a point. Here you got even more potential and please make it great.  Would recommend it if you liked American Gods, have read other books by the authors before or like things like Supernatural and plots with the end of the world.

3 thoughts on “Good Omens by Terry Prachett and Neil Gaiman

  1. lorraineambers March 7, 2018 / 3:33 pm

    I totally get what you mean when an author adds too much elaborate writing, it detracts from the story. It slows thing down, which is a huge shame.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment